style over substance

I am totally shallow when it comes to music.

It’s all about the surface to me. I don’t care about stirring lyrics or timely cultural messages; just give me an addictive melody and a strong backbeat and maybe some fake orchestral undertones (hi there, Carly Rae Jepson) and I’m sold.

Ideally, all that comes pinned to a nice set of words, something I can slap on my away message without looking like a blathering, melodramatic psychopath or a 12-year-old girl. But, like our poor male friends who oftentimes find themselves forced to prioritize tits over ass, sometimes you just can’t have the whole package.

I choose the beat.

Nowhere was this more apparent than when I fell for Mark Ronson’s Bang Bang Bang a few weeks ago. It was so catchy (from the Girls Bushwick episode, obvs) that I soon found myself playing it on repeat, sucking up the $1.29 to have it for keeps.┬áBut what was that chorus exactly? I hummed along, mumbled my own made-up words, sure it had to be something pertinent and smart to match such a fun and modern sound.

Turns out the whole chorus is in French. A language I do not speak.

Guess I’m even more vapid than I suspected.

One Response

  1. I’ve liked Mark Ronson ever since I heard ‘Ooh Wee’ at the end of ‘Hitch’

Leave a Reply

