the social scene

Oh look! That life-sized muppet we bought ourselves last year: still living with us.

Francine’s actually been having a bit of a rough time of it recently. She’s past her initial “you moved me to New York and now I shall destroy everything you hold dear” phase – thank god – but her best friend here, Madeleine, recently got sick, and Franny’s feeling the loss acutely. I tried to arrange a few other play dates, but nothing’s worked out, leaving her lunging at every dog on the street, trying to find someone, anyone to play with.

A few nights ago, she even tried to go at it with a five-pound dog…with no hind legs…that was in some kind of doggie wheelchair.

“Getting desperate,” Dave said, as soon as we were out of earshot.

I, on the other hand – and dude, I don’t want to jinx this – have been on social overdrive. When you live in a city where you actually know people, holiday season apparently becomes a marathon of parties. Last week we had my friend Bridget’s holiday soiree/high school reunion (she lives with our high school prom queen, for real) on Wednesday and then Dave’s internal medicine department holiday party at the Central Park boathouse, where I wore heels I couldn’t walk in and ate at a socially unacceptable pace, on Thursday.

Weeknights are fun again. Who knew?

Hopefully all members of our household will feel just as socially fulfilled very soon.

One Response

  1. It’s so nice to see you happy in New York! 🙂 I can’t wait to meet Franny next time I’m there.

Leave a Reply

