help not wanted

In the past week I have been:

-rejected from a volunteer opportunity. Again, let me specify, these people did not have to pay me. They just had to let me help inner city children.

-asked not to participate in a mentoring program. That I was supposed to be running. Essentially, fired from my own program.

-Rebuffed by a residency coordinator that often helps significant others of prospective interns with job opportunities. I’m not going to name names here, but let’s just say it’s in Cambridge. The one where they don’t drink Pimm’s Cups and use adorably superfluous “u’s” in their spelling. Oh well, one more open spot on the rank list!

What does it take to give up your labor around here?

2 Responses

  1. Hi Rachel,

    Sorry to hear that 😦 Their loss! A few years ago my mother and I tried to volunteer at the Foundling Hospital, which is basically an orphanage for disabled children that’s run by Catholic charities. They told us they didn’t need help because they had a wait list. We chalked it up to anti-semitism. Then we submitted applications to Beth Israel Hospital and we’re still waiting to hear from them…

    I was a CASA for three years, which I really loved, but I wouldn’t recommend it w/ your possible future move. I also did the reading literacy program Everybody Wins! (“Power Lunch”) until I moved this past August. It’s a great program, but I think you should do something where you teach writing because you have so much to offer! Good luck! Don’t give up!

  2. p.s. I also never heard back from Dress from Success when I applied there a few years back. Apparently inner city women do not need my business attire expertise.

Leave a Reply

