wedding season

You probably didn’t think it could get much more dangerous than that Anthro + puppies thing, did you?

But you thought wrong. Because I am going to be … wait for it … an honorary bridesmaid.

Yeah, at first I wasn’t really sure what that is either. When my friend Katherine – who got engaged shortly after I wrote this manifesto about my love/hate (or, let’s be honest, love/love) relationship with all things wedding – gave me the job offer last Friday I was all, of course! Thank you! That’s so sweet! Now what the f does it mean?

I’m still not 100% sure, but it appears as though the title of “honorary bridesmaid” entitles me to the best of both worlds. I get to go to the bridal luncheon and the rehearsal dinner and of course the bachelorette party, but I don’t have to plunk down a wad of cash for an unflattering dress I’ll never wear again. Sign me up. All the fun with none of the responsibilities!

(Except to help her decide whether to order her gown in champagne or ivory. A task I take very seriously, obviously.)

While I’ve had lots of acquaintances get engaged and even married, Katherine is the first of my close friends to have a ring on her left hand, the first one to call me – squealing – right after it happened. I’m so, so happy for her,  but I have to admit, it’s a teensy bit strange for me to think about the fact that she’s going to have a new last name four months from now. Especially since I was with her when she met her husband-t0-be. During an adult kickball game. Yes, actually.

But she’s getting hitched, whether I’m ready for it or not. Come July, Dave and I will be making the 10.5 hour drive down to Lake Junaluska, North Carolina, where we’ll meet Katherine’s Extremely Southern Mother and drink sweet tea and pretend like we don’t actually live together (in sin) and maybe even hit up Dollywood, because, yes, Lake Junaluska is far closer to Tennessee than UNC. And, most importantly, I’ll get to spend some time with Katherine, before all the guests and madness descend, before she stops being the silly, semi-awkward KJ I met 2.5 years ago and starts being someone’s wife.

Best of all, I can do it all in the dress of my choice.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

